Longhua Temple

Longhua Temple 龙华寺 is a complex that preserves the architectural design of a Song Dynasty monastery of the Buddhist Chan sect. It is the largest, most authentic and complete ancient temple complex in the city of Shanghai. A great place to chill out and relax from the hectic city outside. Buddhists tend to be peaceful and there is none of the shoving and jackassery that occurs in the metro rush hour. The main event is bowing to the various deities with your incense sticks held outstretched. Free incense with admission , yes!

I will definitely head back to check out the yearly temple festival that coincides with the Martyr’s Memorial Park’s (near the temple) peach trees blossoming.

Alrighty , let’s try this Flickr thing out seeing as how I am still unable to load pictures directly into WordPress. Sucks you only get a 300 mg monthly allowance for the free Flickr. I really don’t want to pay. These photos took up a 1/3 of my month so you’d better enjoy them!

DSCN8275
8 thoughts on “Longhua Temple

  1. Great photos. I take it no luck with WP…
    I post photos to posterous.com. I think the limit is 100mb per post (I read that somewhere, but haven’t tested it). And I’m unaware of any monthly limit.

    • You got it , no luck yet. Logging on a few minutes ago II see the WP layout/design has changed quite a bit. Maybe it’s my lucky day? I’ll have to wait till I’m off work and home though. My work computer is worse than the one from my parents house 15 years ago. Thanks for the posterous tip. Gonna check it out after work.

      • It is the 9th today, which is 3*3 – should bring you some extra Chinese luck.

        I don’t know if it’s me, but it seems like something gets changed in WP layout every week or something. I’m not afraid of change, but I’d like to be able to get used to the change before it slips away…

      • I’m down for the extra luck , but alas it seems the photos still aren’t working. It’s strange how often WP gets changed now. I’m not used to it either and them boom! Different again.

      • Have you tried changing themes (i.e., might it be a theme-related problem)? Have you tried an experimental new account, and if so, do you have the same problem? If not, you could make a back up of your blog through WP, and then import the saved material.

      • The theme I was using came out with an upgrade after the problems started and I switched to that, but no dice. I haven’t tried any completely different themes though. Guess I should. I didn’t realize you could back up a blog. I’ll look into that experimental new account. I don’t have high hopes though .Thanks for the tips!

      • If you want a back-up, from the Dashboard, choose Tools and then Export. Gives you an xml file. I may have had to re-import photos though. I can’t quite remember. It’s kind of a last ditch thing if nothing else works for you.

Leave a Reply

