Eh Kinda Back But Not Quite

I’ll start out with the obligatory “MERRY CHRISTMAS” greetings to everyone today! The grumpy cashiers may be wearing Santa hats , the shopping malls decked out with over the top Christmas trees , and haunting images of Santa follow my every moment down the street , but it doesn’t really feel like Christmas. This is most likely due to the lack of family and the fact I had to go to work today. Nothing says Christmas like a 7:30 am alarm and the trudge over to clock-in.

The technical issues that have been keeping me from even accessing wordpress have magically cleared up. I think my experiments with sacrifices of paper money to the internet gods worked! However, I’m still stuck with the original problem of the nifty wordpress 3.5 add media into your post being completely broken. My “Macau : PhotoTour” , my “Check out this photo of this nasty bruise I got when a Shanghai taxi ran over my foot” , and my “Wow, This Chinglish add claims there is semen in this drink” (Yes, these are all real) posts have to sit on the back-burner for Buddha knows how long. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE WORDPRESS FIX THIS!

Hmmpf , anyways here are the major updates to December 2012.

1. Yes, a taxi ran over my foot. I was less amazed by the fact a taxi ran it over than that by the fact that my ankle did not break.
2. My kitties had their girl parts removed. A week of moping around with cones on their heads ensued. (You need to see the photos to really see the pathetic state they were in)
3. Hopefully (fingers crossed!) I’ll be assuming the position of Social Media Editor for Sherpa’s food delivery service! Beijingers, Shanghaiers, and Suzhouers get at me! I can’t wait to do something not teaching related!
4. The subway wars are heating up! According to the exploremetro blog, “Beijing and Shanghai are fierce rivals. Both cities have dramatically increased the length of their subway networks in recent years, especially around Beijing’s 2008 Olympics and Shanghai’s 2010 World Expo.
Shanghai has 425km of track (excluding the Maglev and Jinshan Railway), making it the longest subway network in the world, while Beijing currently has 372km. Traditionally, the main metro networks in Mainland China open new lines in the last few days of December. This year is no different, with both the Shanghai Metro and Beijing Subway scheduled to open new lines in late December 2012. The metro operators rarely release information about exactly which lines will open until a few days before the end of the year, which leaves an intriguing conundrum: what will be the longest metro system in the world at the dawn of 2013?” Just recently on line 9 , the interior subway maps were updated showing a brand new Line 13 , a brand new Line 12 , the completed Line 11 , extensions to Line 9 , and a completely new Line 16. I’m kinda of a nerd. These things excite me! The new male English voice on Line 9 ,however, does not! Check out more info at

Man , it feels good to write again. I survived the Mayan Apocalypse , now I just need wordpress working right again.

12 thoughts on “Eh Kinda Back But Not Quite

    • Well it’s not official yet but should be happening. Gotta let all this holiday stuff pass by. Yup, who knew drivers would start driving again when one is in the process of disembarking?!?

  1. I used media uploader to upload a ton of photos to my butterfly blog the last two days. I use my smugmug for the actual photos in the posts on both blogs, but on that blog I need to set featured image and I uploaded about 200 no problem what so ever. Once we switched to Astrill, we’ve been fine. Before that, I had huge problems accessing wordpress. I still think it is all VPN realated, and not wordpress. But that’s just based on my experiences, no actual knowledge. But I feel your pain. I was so frustrated not being able to access it. Hope you get it sorted soon!

    • So you upload to smugmug first and then link the photos into your blog? Thanks for the help and sharing your experiences. It’s super frustrating wanting to post stuff and being stuck due to technical difficulties.

      • yeah, I know. You could also open a free flickr account. I used to use it and link to my blog a few years back. I know some people think it’s better to upload to wordpress, but there is a limit to how many you can upload, and I’ve been blogging since 2006, and I upload tons of photos. I like smugmug because the quality is so high, I can upload full resolution images, and it serves as my online backup, and also, I sell a few photos here and there and pick up a bit of cash for new camera equipment :). I don’t know if flickr is ever blocked. Smugmug isn’t. So I can always upload from China to it, even if I can’t blog. Hope you find a solution soon. Last month I was in your shoes. So frustrated. For me, the change of vpn is doing the trick for now.

    • I’m able to upload images and see my media library if I do it on the side bar media tools. But I’m unable to post images into my posts. I could upload and change my featured image , and also upload photos into my media library , it’s just broken if I want to actually put them into posts! Arghgh!

  2. My WordPress had the same issue for a couple of days when it started. Then it fixed itself.

    I first used it on IE.

    Then thinking that might be the issue, I decided to use Firefox.

    That worked. So you could try a different browser for uploading photos and then use your usual browser and just add from your media library once done.

    Luckily IE then started working for me (maybe it was jealous of Firefox?), which is good, because I personally find IE to be good, and Firefox to be cack. It’s always slower, clunkier than IE. It’s just fashionable, which doesn’t even make sense – it’s just a web browser.

    • I’ve tried on Safari , Firefox , and Chrome but no luck! I’v e tried clearing browser caches and everything else recommended in the wordpress forums. I guess they still gotta iron some bugs out of WP 3.5. Haha the last time I had a computer with IE was when it still didn’t have tabs. Firefox did the whole tabbed browsing thing first which made it cool. Since then it’s kinda lost its innovative edge.

  3. the other good thing about astrill is you can sign up for just a month or 3 months, etc. and see if it makes a difference. After going through 4 services the last couple of months, I didn’t want to lay out a whole year and then find out it didn’t work. But so far, it’s the best we’ve had in China. Improved our speed considerably.

Leave a Reply

