WordPress 3.5 Problems

Anyone notice the new WordPress update that rolled in a few days ago?

It’s a pretty radical change and one that seems a hell of a lot better.

I really enjoyed using it for a day or two until the functionality totally broke. Is anyone else having problems with this?
Now if I try to upload images into a post the first image will start and then hang. I also cannot load the media library from inside the post. However, I can view my media library and upload things into the media library if I use the new Media section on the left hand toolbar. But I can’t put images inside my post!!

I’ve tried clearing browser caches and cookies to no avail. I’ve been scouring the internet for fixes and haven’t stumbled upon anything remotely helpful. What to do?!?!?

I want to keep on the blogging!

UPDATE – I should probably add that since I’m behind the Great Firewall of China I use a web based VPN service , Securitales , to access WordPress. This didn’t cause any major problems previously though.

6 thoughts on “WordPress 3.5 Problems

  1. Hi there! I found your post b/c I am experiencing the same issue :/

    I can’t set featured images or use the “media” button in the WYSIWYG menu. I *have* found that I can get a featured image to set if I copy-and-paste the “set featured image” link into a new tab, upload/set the image and save, then return to the original post and save it… I don’t know what this means at ALL in terms of what’s wrong (jquery?), but if you hear of a fix, I’d LOVE to know!

    • Hey! Wow , I can’t even access wordpress anymore through my vpn. I can log onto my site but then when it reaches the dashboard it will go into an endless sending ….loading… waiting…. and all I’ll see is a blank white page. I just managed to inadvertently get on by indirectly accessing my wordpress through another site. Sorry I have no fixes to response with either. I’m just shocked I got on at all to write this! You figure anything out?

  2. Hmm, that truly sucks that you are still having problems. I haven’t had problems with the photos so much as comments and getting stuff to load as quickly as before. Not sure whether it is a WP update thing or an aftermath to the Chinese congress meeting thing.

    According to updates from my VPN service, China is viciously attacking providers and implementing extra measures to keep people from accessing the world’s information and dangerous sites such as WordPress. I’m not sure whether you are experiencing something related to that or not – have you thought about test driving a different provider as an experiment (some companies may offer a free trial). Any feedback yet from WP staff on what you’re experiencing? Have you tried accessing your site from another person’s computer to rule out problems on your computer?

    • I’ve just messaged my vpn service about it to see what they have to say. I can’t even access the main site anymore. The only way to see my comments is to visit a wordpress site with it’s own domain and then I can access the comments. Depending on what my vpn service says , I’ll switch over to Astrill. Stupid 十八大 , I just want to share photos / experiences with friends and family!

Leave a Reply

