Mandatory , It’s More Fun!

Happy Teacher’s Day everyone! This upcoming Friday will feature a dinner gathering event at my school! Free food , some games , and little prizes to be won.

Attendance : MANDATORY.

That just sucks the joy out of it for me.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s sort of a fun event . In any case there is free food and some small prizes to be given out. Can’t beat that. But just the whole ATTENDANCE REQUIRED thing just gets me thinking how much I would prefer just to clock out at 4pm on Friday , relax , chill out , and hang out with friends instead of co-workers. On the much coveted Friday evening now I have to sit in the office and wait an extra hour before trudging upstairs to listen to some boring speeches , and then eat with a bunch of people whom I don’t really share a lot of cultural common points with.

Oh you were born under the red rule of Mao Zedong , revolutionary hero and extreme idiot, who got millions of his own people killed? That’s great! I was born in the dark days of George H.W Bush who uhh Gulf War…….

Nah , nah , I’m exaggerating things a bit for the comic humor but yea this dinner isn’t quite like kicking over a BBQ back home with some brews.

Lots of Chinese companies have this kind of mandatory forced fun. My girlfriends company has monthly dinners. Sounds good right? Well now the stingy bosses are deducting 5% out of everyone’s commissions to pay for said dinner. Before it was free. Now all the coworkers have to pay to have the right to eat with people they don’t really want to hang out with. Great.

Out in the countryside where there isn’t much to do, and everyone lives in communal dormitories at the factory , things are a bit different. Perhaps the company dinner with KTV (karaoke is super popular in Asia) is a great thing to ease the dullness of 6 day a week 14 hour a day mindless work while sleeping in a room with 5 other people. I don’t know . I’ve never experienced anything like that. I’ll just count my blessings and make it through a slightly elongated Friday. It could be worse.

Leave a Reply

