New Students New Teachers

In comes August, and with it a batch of new students , kicking and screaming , leaving their parents for the first time arrive. With them comes a batch of eight new Chinese teachers in the school. Whoa, eight of sixteen teachers opted not to renew their contracts, and most of these teachers were newish arrivals from the start of the winter semester. I guess I should have expected that but it took me by surprise.

Now for the most part I like my job. My schedule is pretty relaxed , my wages are nice , and the kids are cute. I’m the big goofy clown that everyone loves. Walking into the school every morning I’m created by a choir of kids all chanting my name. Hugs in the morning? Try that in the corporate world.

However, my job and the Chinese teachers’ jobs are much , much different. More work , more kid discipline , endless meetings , constant children progress reports , and non-stop preparations. Oh yea , and at a 1/4 (yes a quarter) of my pay. Ouch. So it makes sense the turn-over rate was as high as it was.

It’s like the fast food industry back in the U.S.A . An overabundance of unskilled workers willing to work for peanuts and quickly realizing this job sucks. Quit. Repeat. I’m not exactly sure how I myself survived two years of work at K.F.C .

These teachers aren’t of the same unskilled KFC worker cast but the huge population of China is working against them in this situation. Go ahead and quit. You are replaceable. Want too much cash? Ok , we can find someone who will work for less. Somewhere in this labor people of 1.4 billion people are tens and tens of millions of teachers. The eight positions were filled very quickly.

The former manager-type of the kindergarten (Principal’s Right Hand Woman) just up and stopped coming to work , wouldn’t answer her phone calls , and surprised everyone by leaving. She really did work hard and did a good job. My guess is that she tried to get a much deserved raise , her demands were rejected , and she said f*ck it ,and dipped. Now one of the former teachers was drafted over to the administrative job . She is in over her head just a liiiiitttle bit.

That’s how it is in the workplace in China. Bosses aren’t good to the workers, and don’t reward them , because they can afford not to. My girlfriend works in the corporate world and it works the same way there. In her 8 months of work in the company she has seen countless people come and go , with the majority quitting in two weeks or less. I can’t remember how many times she has come home in a rage , cursing the bosses , and vowing to not take their shit anymore. Guess maybe it’s a good thing guns are outlawed here.

Leave a Reply

