The Wall Yet Stands!

 

Change , change , change , change is in the air. The temperature has been creeping upwards ,the sun has come out after nearly a month of straight cold, grey, rain and the cherry blossoms are just starting to emerge.  Changshou road’s 4 eastbound lanes have been shutdown and traffic re-routed. One night there was a courtyard the next night a new 3 lane road was paved to compensate for the new construction. Just like that, overnight. One day I look from my balcony and everything is normal , the next day a new 3 lane road. Craziness. Later on this summer a new subway line will be open right on the corner of Changshou and Wuning roads. I , however, will be outta here in 3 weeks. A new apartment woo hoo!

Last summer upon returning from the Yunnan and Laos travels I read , much to my chagrin, in That’s Shanghai magazine that my favorite graffiti spot on Moganshan lu would be coming down. New developments and investments would be destroying the classic graf wall. It was supposed to be down by the end of last year . Shit weather and work have kept me away from the area but last weekend I checked it out and the wall yet stands! The adjacent building’s facade has been newly constructed and finished up but so far Moganshan’s wall is still up. I have no idea how long that will last or maybe the destruction has been called off. Who can say? I do leave you with some nice new photos though. Enjoy while it lasts. And I swear the rest of the Cambodian trip will be written up soon!

Leave a Reply

